Quick Links

Useful Links

Mirfield College

Information Technology


BTEC (Level 3) Extended Certificate (Single Award)

BTEC Information Technology (IT) is designed for those who are interested in the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other areas of study. Students will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.











Course Outlines

Entry Requirements

Grade 4 in GCSE English Language.



Unit 1 – Externally assessed examination = 33%
Unit 2 – 10 hour external assessment = 25%

Unit 3 – Internally assessed coursework = 25%

Unit 6 – Internally assessed coursework = 17%


Course Units

Unit 1 – Information Technology Systems

Unit 2 – Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3 – Using Social Media in Business

Unit 6 – Website Development


Future Opportunities

The course provides a good foundation for students wishing to pursue further studies in IT and its related areas such as computing, multimedia, computer science, business information technology, software development or web development. There are a range of employment opportunities in the field development for national companies, systems analysis, web design and network technician posts in various companies and local education authorities.


Further Information

If you are interested in the world of IT and want to learn about how modern technology can be used within businesses and enjoy developing websites and systems, or if you are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, then this is the right course for you.

Extended Certificate

Equates to one A Level

Graded Distinction*, Distinction, Merit or Pass (D*,D,M,P)